Steven A. McDonald Award; Yogan Signs ATO

April 7, 2011, by

Tonight the Rangers give out the Steven A. McDonald Extra Effort Award to the player, as voted on by the fans, to have given the most to the team for this season. There are probably four Rangers who I wouldn’t be surprised to see win the award (Brandon Prust, Ryan Callahan, Brandon Dubinsky, Henrik Lundqvist), but personally I voted for Prust, and think he deserves the award this year. He has clearly gone above and beyond what anyone has expected of him, and his quote of “It’s just pain.” will be quoted by fans for a long time.

Also, in CT Whale news, Brian Ring is reporting that the Whale signed 2010 fourth round pick Andrew Yogan to an amateur try-out. Yogan missed most of this season in the OHL following shoulder surgery, but came back and put up three goals and an assist in the Erie Otters final ten games of the regular season. In the playoffs, Yogan notched two assists in three games. Yogan initially was thought to have first round talent, but dropped after a slow start in the OHL. He has the size and skills to become a decent NHL player, but it all has to come together for him. Yogan is now the second player from the 2010 draft to sign an ATO with the CT Whale, with first round pick Dylan McIlrath signing one yesterday.

Categories : Awards, Prospects

One comment

  1. Section 121 says:

    Ladies and gentlemen, Mr. Brandon Prust