Archive for Awards


Norris Finalists

Posted by: | Comments (2)

The Norris Trophy finalists, for best defenseman, have been announced. There really shouldn’t be any surprises with this group of Drew Doughty (LA), Mike Green (WAS), and Duncan Keith (CHI). Simply put, Doughty and Keith are two of the best defensemen in the league, and will continue to be amongst the league’s best for many, many years. As for Green, just look at his numbers. Seriously, just look at them. Then remember that the Rangers traded up to get Lauri Korpikoski in the draft, 13 spots ahead of Green.

Categories : Awards
Comments (2)

Calder Finalists Announced

Posted by: | Comments (1)

As more finalists for the major NHL awards get announced, we meet with no surprises for today’s finalists for the Calder trophy, awarded to the top rookie. The three finalists are Colorado’s Matt Duchene, Detroit’s Jimmy Howard, and Buffalo’s Tyler Myers. In my opinion, I think this should go to Jimmy Howard, as he single-handedly got got Detroit into the playoffs after taking over for the struggling Chris Osgood. Of course, us Ranger fans know a lot about Tyler Myers, as he seems to be Joe Micheletti’s favorite player.

Categories : Awards
Comments (1)

Lady Byng Finalists

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Lady Byng Finalists

Next up in the NHL Awards finalists, the Lady Byng, awarded to “the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.” This year’s finalists are Brad Richards (Dallas), Martin St. Louis (Tampa Bay), and the perennial pick for this award, Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit). Datsyuk has won this award the previous four years in a row, while St. Louis has finished second the previous three years, losing to Datsyuk of course.

The three of these players combined for a total of 22 minor penalties for the entire season. Let that one sink in for a minute or two.

Categories : Awards
Comments Comments Off on Lady Byng Finalists

Selke/Vezina Nominations

Posted by: | Comments (2)

Each day this week, the NHL will be announcing the three finalists for the offseason awards. Yesterday, the three Vezina finalists for best goalie were announced: Ryan Miller (Sabres), Ilya Bryzgalov (Coyotes), and Martin Brodeur (Devils). All three deserved to be nominated, yes Brodeur too, as they each had statistically superior years than the rest of the NHL goalie clan. The award should go to Miller, with Bryzgalov finishing second and Brodeur finishing third. Miller had an absolutely outstanding year, and deserves the award. Bryzgalov also had an outstanding year and carried the defensively-challenged Coyotes to a 100+ point year. Bryzgalov’s numbers are a bit below Miller’s numbers though, so Miller should still win the award.

Today, the Selke finalists for best defensive forward were announced: Jordan Staal (Penguins), Ryan Kesler (Canucks), and Pavel Datsyuk (Red Wings). Datsyuk has won the award the previous two years, but all three are superb two way players and defensive specialists. I personally like Kesler to win, but that’s because I’m biased from the Olympics.

Categories : Awards
Comments (2)

Drury Nominated for Masterton

Posted by: | Comments (2)

Chris Drury is the Rangers nominee for the Bill Masterton trophy, which is awarded annually to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey. A member of the Rangers has won this award four times since its inception in 1967-68: Jean Ratelle (1970-71), Rod Gilbert (1975-76), Anders Hedberg (1984-85), and Adam Graves (2000-01).

Categories : Awards
Comments (2)

Gaborik NHL’s Third Star of November

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Gaborik NHL’s Third Star of November

It’s about time for some good news in November. Marian Gaborik was named the NHL’s Third Star of the month for November. Gaborik put together an impressive line for the month, putting up 11-8-19 in just 13 games.

The rest of the Rangers team had a combined 2 goals an 1 assist for November.

Ok, the last part isn’t true. But it sure does feel like it.

Categories : Awards
Comments Comments Off on Gaborik NHL’s Third Star of November

Del Zotto Rookie of the Month

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Del Zotto Rookie of the Month

Rangers rookie defenseman Michael Del Zotto has been awarded the NHL’s rookie of the month for October. Del Zotto, 19, finished October as the Rangers third leading scorer, putting up a line of 4-8-12 and a +3 in the first 14 games this season, leading all rookies through October (James vanRiemsdyk passed him recently).

Del Zotto has been nothing short of awesome for the Rangers. He adds a new dynamic to the powerplay, and is currently playing as a top 2-3 defenseman on the Rangers. He has been a pleasant surprise. Kudos to him, and very well deserved.

Categories : Awards
Comments Comments Off on Del Zotto Rookie of the Month

Messier, Richter Win Lester Patrick Award

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Messier, Richter Win Lester Patrick Award

Ranger greats Mark Messier and Mike Richter are the 2009 recipients of the Lester Patrick Award, which is awarded for outstanding service to hockey in the US. The third recipient this year is Red Wings Senior Vice President Jim Devellano.

Categories : Awards
Comments Comments Off on Messier, Richter Win Lester Patrick Award

Amonte a US Hall-of-Famer

Posted by: | Comments (2)

Former Ranger, and one of my favorites, Tony Amonte was elected to the US Hockey HOF, joining John Leclair and Tom Barrasso in the 2009 class. Amonte had two very successful seasons with the Rangers before being shipped to Chicago in the deal that brought Stephane Matteau and Brian Noonan to NY, putting up 35-34-69 and 33-43-76.

Other than Mike York, who went on to nothing following his departure from NY, Amonte was the last Ranger rookie to really be a consistently legitimate scoring threat every time he touched the ice. Kudos to him, Leclair and Barrasso.

Categories : Awards
Comments (2)

Gilroy nominated for 2009 ESPY Award

Posted by: | Comments (3)

Former BU All-American Captain and current Rangers prospect Matt Gilroy has been nominated for the 2009 ESPY Award for Best Male College Athlete.  The Long Island native lifted BU to the 2009 National Championship, winning the Hobey Baker Award as the nation’s top college ice-hockey player along the way.  On April 17th, just 6 days after winning the title, Gilroy signed a 2-year $3.5 million contract with the Rangers.  His fellow nominees include Sam Bradford of Oklahoma (football), Blake Griffin of Oklahoma (basketball), Stephen Strasburg of San Diego State (baseball), and Tim Tebow of Florida (football).

That’s some incredibly elite company for a college hockey player, a student-athlete who doesn’t get any attention whatsoever.  When you consider that Bradford won the Heisman, Griffin will be the #1 pick in the NBA draft tonight, Strasburg was the #1 pick in the MLB draft and is “one of the greatest pitching prospects ever”, and Tebow has been baptized Superman and all that is holy by half the press, its a pretty impressive feat.  Say what you want about the ESPYs (i.e. total popularity contest), but its one of the few events that bridges sports, whether its high school, college, pro, olympic, extremewhatever.  So to be included in one of the categories is a pretty nice honor.  Chances of him winning are basically zero, due to the reasons previously stated, but a special honor nonetheless.

Categories : Awards
Comments (3)