Archive for Awards


Dominic Moore nominated for Masterton

Posted by: | Comments (1)

In case you missed it, Dominic Moore was nominated for the Bill Masterton trophy yesterday, just hours after Chris wrote a solid piece on why the Rangers should re-sign him next year. The Masterton is awarded each year to the player “who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.” The nominees are selected by members of the PHWA.

Moore returned to the Rangers this year, his second stint with the team, after sitting out all of last season following the passing of his wife from a rare form of liver cancer. She was 32.

Categories : Awards
Comments (1)

The worst GM in the NHL award

Posted by: | Comments (5)

For several years running we’ve been nominating certain individuals as the “worst GM in the NHL,” as defined by team performance, bad trades and lackluster free agent signings. Last season’s award went to Scott Howson, who has since been fired by Columbus.

Going a bit further back, 2011’s award went to Paul Holmgren, who still holds his post in Philadelphia…for now. 2010’s award went to Darryl Sutter, who was fired shortly thereafter by the Flames. Past nominees include Brian Burke (fired by Toronto), Pierre Gauthier (fired by Montreal) and Garth Snow, among others.

So while these posts are meant to be fun and get us through the dog says of summer, in reality, the nominations really haven’t been too far off.

Read More→

Comments (5)

Shanahan, four others elected to HHOF

Posted by: | Comments (3)

Former Ranger Brendan Shanahan will be a member of the 2013 Hockey Hall of Fame inductees. Chris Chelios, Scott Niedermayer, Geraldine Heaney, and Fred Shero will also be inducted. Shanny played two seasons with the Rangers, putting together a line of 52-56-108 in 140 games. For his career, Shanny was one of the best power forwards to ever play the game, scoring 658 goals and adding 698 assists, with over 2,500 PIMs.

Comments (3)

Lundqvist named to Second All Star Team

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Lundqvist named to Second All Star Team

The NHL released its All Star teams today, and Henrik Lundqvist was the lone representative from the Rangers, named to the second All Star Team. Vezina winner Sergei Bobrovsky beat him out for the First All Star team. The PHWA votes on these teams, and named Alex Ovechkin to two different teams at two different positions…so take this with a grain of salt.

Categories : Awards
Comments Comments Off on Lundqvist named to Second All Star Team

In case you missed it last night, Henrik Lundqvist did not win the Vezina trophy for the second year in a row. Sergei Bobrovsky of the Columbus Blue Jackets won the award, with Hank finishing in second place. Bob received 110 total points in the vote, while Hank nabbed 55 points.

For the other awards, Derek Stepan and Ryan Callahan finished eighth and ninth respectively for the Selke Trophy, and Callahan finished tenth for the Lady Byng.

Categories : Awards
Comments (12)

Henrik Lundqvist has been named a finalist for the Vezina trophy again, for the fifth time in his career. Lundqvist won the award last year, and will look to be the first back to back winner since Martin Brodeur (06-07, 07-08). The other finalists are Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus) and Antii Niemi (SJ).

Categories : Awards
Comments (11)

Staal nominated for Masterton trophy; Girardi gets Good Guy Award

Posted by: | Comments Comments Off on Staal nominated for Masterton trophy; Girardi gets Good Guy Award

Per Andrew Gross, Marc Staal has been announced as the Rangers’ nominee for the Bill Masterton trophy. The Masterton is awarded to the player “who best exemplifies dedication, perseverance and sportsmanship to hockey.” Staal overcame a concussion that cost him half of last season, and has been out since March after taking a puck to the eye.

Gross also noted that Dan Girardi won this year’s Rangers John Halligan Good Guy Award. The Halligan Award is given to the “Ranger considered to have cooperated the most with the media during the season and previous winners (Brian Boyle, Ryan Callahan and Henrik Lundqvist) ineligible.”

Categories : Awards
Comments Comments Off on Staal nominated for Masterton trophy; Girardi gets Good Guy Award

In what is becoming tradition, Ryan Callahan was announced as the winner of the Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award before last night’s game. This marks Cally’s second year in a row winning the award. Cally has also won the award four times in the past five years. Only Adam Graves (5) holds more Steven McDonald Award wins than Cally.

I could go about listing why Cally won the award, but I think we all know why, but I think this shift pretty much sums it up:

Categories : Awards
Comments (2)

Former Ranger winger Pavel Bure was one of four elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame this afternoon. Bure will join Joe Sakic, Mats Sundin, and Adam Oates as the class of 2012. During his two-year stint with the Rangers, the oft-injured winger still managed to put up almost a point-per-game pace, with a line of 31-19-50 in 51 games.

Sakic and Sundin were the first ballot Hall of Famers, while Bure and Oates had been on the ballot for a couple of years. Surprisingly snubbed on his first ballot was Brendan Shannahan, who has 100 more goals and three more Stanley Cups than Sundin. Also left off this year’s class were first timers Jeremy Roenick and Curtis Joseph; and hold-overs Eric Lindros, Dave Andreychuck, Kevin Lowe, and Pat Burns.

Categories : Awards
Comments (6)

Lundqvist finally takes home the Vezina

Posted by: | Comments (7)

For the first four months of the season, the Vezina was a foregone conclusion. Henrik Lundqvist had the award wrapped up. Then along came Jonanthan Quick and his stellar last two months to get the Kings to the playoffs. After that, there was much debate over who should win. There was no wrong choice, both deserved the award, but in the end it was Henrik Lundqvist winning the award after his fourth nomination.

Lundqvist finished the season with a 39-18-5 record, a 1.97 GAA, a .930 SV%, and 8 shutouts. Quick finished with a 35-21-13 record, a 1.95 GAA, a .929SV%, and a league leading 10 shutouts. Both were equally deserving, and it was nice to see Hank finally get the nod in what turned out to be a lopsided vote. Hank had 17 first place votes, Quick had six.

Ryan Callahan (Mark Messier Award) and John Tortorella (Jack Adams) finished as runner-ups (runners-up?) for their respective awards. Hank lost out on the Hart Trophy to Evgeni Malkin.

Categories : Awards
Comments (7)